Visitor & Tickets
Animals & Exhibits
Learning Adventures
ANIMAL
OF THE WEEK
The Eastern black rhinoceros's skin color depends on the color of the soil where the rhino lives and how much it likes to wallow or roll in the mud. read more >
Home > Visitor & Tickets

Calendar of Events

Sedgwick County Zoo offers a variety of events and activities for kids ages newborn to 99 years! Click on the event or activity for more information.

July 2016

Jul 1 Fri
Creative Play Day 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Jul 2 Sat
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Jul 5 Tue
Twilight Tuesday 6:00 - 8:30 p.m.

Jul 6 Wed
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Jul 7 Thur
Zookeeper Apprentice: Make a Difference Day 9:30 - 11:30 a.m.
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Jul 8 Fri
Creative Play Day 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Jul 9 Sat
Zooper Kids 1:30 p.m.

Jul 12 Tues
Twilight Tuesday 6:00 - 8:30 p.m.
Sunset Safari 6:30 p.m.

Jul 13 Wed
Senior Wednesday
10:00 a.m.

Jul 14 Thur
Zookeeper Apprentice: Make a Difference Day 9:30 - 11:30 a.m.

Jul 15 Fri
Creative Play Day 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Drunken Botantist 6:00 p.m.

Jul 16 Sat
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.

Jul 19 Tue
Twilight Tuesday 6:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
Get into Nature 10:00 a.m.

Jul 20 Wed
OWLET 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.
Wheeling Wild Wednesday 5:30 - 6:30 p.m.

Jul 21 Thur
Zookeeper Apprentice: Make a Difference Day 9:30 - 11:30 a.m.
OWLET 10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.

Jul 22 Fri
Creative Play Day 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Jul 26 Tue.
Twilight Tuesday 6:00 - 8:30 p.m.
Tot Tuesday 10:30 a.m.

Jul 28 Thur
Zookeeper Apprentice: Make a Difference Day 9:30 - 11:30 a.m.

Jul 29 Fri
Creative Play Day 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Jul 30 Sat
Farm Festival: County Fair 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

August 2016

Aug 1 Mon
Coffee Connections 9:00 a.m.

Aug 2 Tue
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Aug 3 Wed
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Aug 4 Thur
Zookeeper Apprentice: Make a Difference Day 9:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.

Aug 5 Fri
Creative Play Day 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Aug 6 Sat
Back to School Bash 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Aug 9 Tue
Sunset Safari 6:30 p.m.

Aug 10 Wed
Senior Wednesday 10:00 a.m.

Aug 11 Thur
Zookeeper Apprentice: Make a Difference Day 9:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. 

Aug 12 Fri
Creative Play Day 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Aug 13 Sat
Zooper Kids 1:30 p.m.

Aug 16 Tue
Get into Nature 10:00 a.m.
OWLET 10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.

Aug 17 Wed.
OWLET 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.
Wheeling Wild 5:30 p.m.

Aug 20 Sat
Get into Nature 10:00 a.m.

Aug 23 Tue
Tot Tuesday 10:30 a.m.

Aug 24 Wed
Homeschool Expeditions 10:00 a.m.

September 2016

Sep 2 Fri
Creature Campout 5:30 p.m.

Sep 3 Sat
Zookeeper Kids 1:30 p.m.
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Sep 7 Wed
Homeschool Expeditions 10:00 a.m.
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Sep 8 Thur
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Sep 9 Fri
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Sep 10 Sat
Zoo
Closed 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Zoobilee 6:00 p.m. – midnight

Sep 13 Tue
Ewe & Me
10:00 a.m.
Sunset Safari 6:30 p.m.

Sep 14 Wed
Senior Wednesday
10:00 a.m.
Ewe & Me
10:00 a.m. & 1:30 p.m.

Sep 17 Sat
Get into Nature
10:00 a.m.
Junior Behind the Scenes
2:00 p.m.
Creature Campout
5:30 p.m.

Sep 20 Tue
OWLET
10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.
Get into Nature
10:00 a.m.

Sep 21 Wed
OWLET
10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.
Wheeling Wild
5:30 p.m.

Sep 27 Tue
Tot Tuesday 10:30 a.m.

Sep 30 Fri
Beastly Beers Craft Edition 6:00 p.m.

October 2016

Oct 1 Sat
Creature Campout 5:30 p.m.
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Oct 3 Mon
Coffee Connections 9:00 a.m.

Oct 4 Tue
Wee Wiggler 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Oct 5 Wed
Homeschool Expeditions 10:00 a.m.
Wee Wiggler 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Oct 7 Fri.
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Oct 8 Sat
Farm Festival: Bee 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Zooper Kids 1:30 p.m.

Oct 11 Tue
Sunset Safari 6:30 p.m.

Oct 12 Wed
Ewe & Me 10:00 a.m. & 1:30 p.m.
Senior Wednesday 10:00 a.m.

Oct 13 Thu
Ewe & Me 1:30 p.m.

Oct 15 Sat
Monkey Butt Poker Run 8:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Plant Donation Drive 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.
Backstage Pass 10:30 a.m.

Oct 16 Sun
Plant Donation Drive 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Oct 18 Tue
OWLET 10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.

Oct 19 Wed
OWLET 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.
Wheeling Wild 5:30 p.m.

Oct 25 Tue
Tot Tuesday 10:30 a.m.

Oct 28 Fri
Night of the Living Zoo 6:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

Oct 29 Sat
Night of the Living Zoo 6:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

Oct 30 Sun
Night of the Living Zoo 6:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
 

November 2016

Nov 1 Tue
Winter Hours Begin. Zoo Hours: 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m

Nov 2 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.
Homeschool Expeditions 10:00 a.m.

Nov 3 Thur
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Nov 5 Sat
Zooper Kids 1:30 p.m.
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Nov 7 Mon
Coffee Connections 9:00 a.m.

Nov 8 Tue
Ewe & Me 10:00 a.m. & 1:30 p.m.
Sunset Safari 6:30 p.m.

Nov 9 Wed
Winter Wednesdays 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Ewe & Me 10:00 a.m. & 1:30 p.m.
Senior Wednesday 10:00 a.m.

Nov 11 Fri
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Nov 15 Tue
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.

Nov 16 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
OWLET 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Nov 17 Thur
OWLET 10:00 a.m.,11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.

Nov 18 Fri
Wild Wines 6:00 p.m.

Nov 19 Sat
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.

Nov 22 Tue
Tot Tuesday 10:30 a.m.

Nov 23 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
WOW Thanksgiving Safari 10:00 a.m.

Nov 30 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

December 2016

Dec 3 Sat
Zooper Kids 1:30 p.m.
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m..

Dec 5 Mon
Coffee Connections 9:00 a.m.

Dec 7 Wed
Winter Wednesday
Homeschool Expeditions 10:00 a.m.
Senior Wednesdays 10:00 a.m.
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Dec 8 Thur
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Dec 9 Fri
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Dec 10 Sat
Seasons Treatings 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Backstage Pass 10:30 a.m.

Dec 13 Tue
Sunset Safari 6:30 p.m.

Dec 14 Wed
Winter Wednesday
Ewe & Me 10:00 a.m. & 1:30 p.m.

Dec 15 Thur
Ewe & Me 1:30 p.m.

Dec 17 Sat
Farm Festival: Holiday in the Barn 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Get into Nature 10:00 a.m.
Junior Behind the Scenes 2:00 p.m.

Dec 20 Tue
Get into Nature 10:00 a.m.
OWLET 10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.

Dec 21 Wed
Winter Wednesday
OWLET 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Dec 28 Wed
Winter Wednesday

January 2017

Jan 2 Mon
Coffee Connections 9:00 a.m.

Jan 4 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Jan 11 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Jan 18 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Jan 25 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

February 2017

Feb 1 Wed
Winter Wednesday
10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Feb 6 Mon
Coffee Connections
9:00 a.m.

Feb 8 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Feb 15 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Feb 22 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
OWLET 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.


March 2017

Mar 1 Wed
Summer Hours Begin Now Open 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Mar 6 Mon
Coffee Connections 9:00 a.m.

Mar 8 Wed
Senior Wednesday 10:00 a.m.

Mar 11 Fri
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Mar 15 Wed
Wheeling Wild Wednesday 5:30 p.m.

April 2017

Apr 3 Mon
Coffee Connections 9:00 a.m.

Apr 12 Wed
Senior Wednesday 10:00 a.m.

Apr 19
Wed
Wheeling Wild Wednesday 5:30 p.m.

Apr TBD Thu
Party for the Planet presented by Meritrust and Black Hills Energy 9:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

May 2017

May 1 Mon
Coffee Connections 9:00 a.m.

May 14 Sun
Mother's Day 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

May 17 Wed
Wheeling Wild 5:30 p.m.

May 30 Mon
Tot Tuesday 10:30 a.m.

June 2017

Jun 5 Mon
Coffee Connection 9:00 a.m.

Jun 14 Wed
Senior Wendesday 10:00 a.m.
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Jun 18 Sun
Father's Day Car Show 8:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
The Zoo Tram will not be running today. 

Jun 27 Tue
Tot Tuesday 10:30 a.m.

Hours of Operation
Summer Hours8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
(Beginning March 1)
Winter Hours10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
(Beginning November 1)
Open 364 Days a Year!*
*The Zoo will be closed one day only, September 10, 2016 to facilitate the preparation of the annual Zoo fundraiser, Zoobilee. For Zoobilee ticket information please call 266-8APE (8273).
E-NEWSLETTER SIGNUP