Visitor & Tickets
Animals & Exhibits
Learning Adventures
ANIMAL
OF THE WEEK
The Chinese alligator is a small crocodilian with a stocky body covered in hard scales on the back and softer scales on the sides and belly read more >
Home > Visitor & Tickets

Calendar of Events

Sedgwick County Zoo offers a variety of events and activities for kids ages newborn to 99 years! Click on the event or activity for more information.

December 2016

Dec 3 Sat
Zooper Kids 1:30 p.m.
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m..

Dec 5 Mon
Coffee Connections 9:00 a.m.

Dec 7 Wed
Winter Wednesday
Homeschool Expeditions 10:00 a.m.
Senior Wednesdays 10:00 a.m.
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Dec 8 Thur
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Dec 9 Fri
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Dec 10 Sat
Season's Treatings 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Backstage Pass 10:30 a.m.

Dec 13 Tue
Sunset Safari 6:30 p.m.

Dec 14 Wed
Winter Wednesday
Ewe & Me 10:00 a.m. & 1:30 p.m.

Dec 15 Thur
Ewe & Me 1:30 p.m.

Dec 17 Sat
Farm Festival: Holiday in the Barn 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Get into Nature 10:00 a.m.
Junior Behind the Scenes 2:00 p.m.

Dec 20 Tue
Get into Nature 10:00 a.m.
OWLET 10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.

Dec 21 Wed
Winter Wednesday
OWLET 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Dec 28 Wed
Winter Wednesday

January 2017

Jan 3 Tue
WOW 8:00 a.m.
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Jan 4 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Jan 7 Sat
Zooper Kids 1:30 p.m.
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Jan 10 Tue
Ewe & Me 10:00 a.m.
Sunset Safari 6:30 p.m.

Jan 11 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Senior Wednesday 10:00 a.m.
Ewe & Me 10:00 a.m. & 1:30 p.m.

Jan 13 Fri
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Jan 18 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Homeschool Expeditions 10:00 a.m.
OWLET 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Jan 19 Thu
OWLET 10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.

Jan 21 Sat
Social Hour: Coffee with a Hint of Conservation 6:00 p.m.

Jan 24 Tue
Tot Tuesday 10:30 a.m.

Jan 25 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

February 2017

Feb 1 Wed
Winter Wednesday
10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Feb 2 Thu
Wee Wigglers
10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Feb 4 Sat
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Feb 6
Mon
Coffee Connections
9:00 a.m.

Feb 8 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Senior Wednesday 10:00 a.m.
Ewe & Me 10:00 a.m. & 1:30 p.m.

Feb 9 Thu
Ewe & Me 1:30 p.m.

Feb 10 Fri
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Feb 11 Sat
Breakfast with the Birds 8:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.
Zooper Kids 1:30 p.m.
Social Hour: Pucker Up: The Science Behind Taste 6:00 p.m.

Feb 14 Tue
OWLET 10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.
Sunset Safari 6:30 p.m.

Feb 15 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Homeschool Expeditions 10:00 a.m.
OWLET 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Feb 21 Tue
WOW 8:00 a.m.

Feb 22 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Feb 28 Tue
Tot Tuesday 10:30 a.m.

March 2017

Mar 1 Wed
Summer Hours Begin Now Open 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Mar 2 Thu
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Mar 4 Sat
Zooper Kids 1:30 p.m.
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Mar 6 Mon
Coffee Connections 9:00 a.m.

Mar 7 Tue
Ewe & Me 10:00 a.m.

Mar 8 Wed
Senior Wednesday 10:00 a.m.
Ewe & Me 10:00 a.m.

Mar 10 Fri
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Mar 11 Sat
Children's Farms Festival: Sheep Shearing 9:00 a.m. - Noon

Mar 14 Tue
Wheeling Wild 5:30 p.m.
Sunset Safari 6:30 p.m.

Mar 15 Wed
Homeschool Expeditions 10:00 a.m.
OWLET 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Mar 16 Thu
OWLET 10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.

Mar 18 Sat
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.
Junior Behind the Scenes 2:00 p.m.

Mar 20 Mon - Mar 24 Fri
WOW Spring Fling 8:00 a.m.

Mar 21 Tue
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.

Mar 28 Tue
Tot Tuesday 10:30 a.m.

April 2017

Apr 1 Sat
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Apr 3 Mon
Coffee Connections 9:00 a.m.

Apr 4 Tue
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Apr 5 Wed
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Apr 7 Fri
Social Hour: Beastly Beers Craft Edition 6:00 p.m.
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Apr 8 Sat
Zooper Kids 1:30 p.m.

Apr 11 Tue
Sunset Safari 6:30 p.m.

Apr 12 Wed
Senior Wednesday 10:00 a.m.
Ewe & Me 10:00 a.m. & 1:30 p.m.
Homeschool Expeditions 10:00 a.m.

Apr 13 Thu
Ewe & Me 1:30 p.m.

Apr 14 Fri
Creature Campout 5:30 p.m.

Apr 15 Sat
Easter Eggstravaganza 8:30 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.

Apr 17 Mon
WOW
8:00 a.m.

Apr 18
Tue
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.
OWLET 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.
Wheeling Wild 5:30 p.m.

Apr 19 Wed
OWLET 10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.

Apr 20 Thu
Party for the Planet presented by Meritrust and Black Hills Energy 9:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

Apr 22 Sat
Creature Campout
5:30 p.m.

Apr 25 Tue
Tot Tuesday 10:30 a.m.

May 2017

May 1 Mon
Coffee Connections 9:00 a.m.

May 3 Wed
Homeschool Expeditions 10:00 a.m.
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

May 4 Thu
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

May 6 Sat
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

May 7 Sun
Cinco de Mayo Celebration Noon - 5:00 p.m.

May 9 Tue
Sunset Safari 6:30 p.m.

May 10 Wed
Senior Wednesday 10:00 a.m.

May 12 Fri
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

May 13 Sat
Zooper Kids 1:30 p.m.

May 14 Sun
Mother's Day 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

May 16 Tue
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.
Wheeling Wild 5:30 p.m.

May 17 Wed
OWLET 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

May 18 Thu
OWLET 10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.

May 19 Fri
Creature Campout 5:30 p.m.

May 20 Sat
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.

May 23 Tue
Tot Tuesday 10:00 a.m.

May 27 Sat
Children's Farms Festival: Heritage Breeds 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

June 2017

Jun 2 Fri
Pajama Party
6:30 p.m.

Jun 5 Mon
Coffee Connection 9:00 a.m.

Jun 6 Tue
Wee Wigglers
10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Jun 9 Fri
Ape Awareness 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Jun 10 Sat
Ape Awareness 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Zooper Kids1:30 p.m.
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Jun 13 Tue
Sunset Safari 6:30 p.m.

Jun 14 Wed
Senior Wendesday 10:00 a.m.

Jun 17 Sat
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.

Jun 18 Sun
Father's Day Car Show 8:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
The Zoo Tram will not be running today. 

Jun 20 Tue
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.
OWLET 10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.
Wheeling Wild 5:30 p.m.

Jun 21 Wed
OWLET 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Jun 24 Sat
Junior Behind the Scenes 2:00 p.m.
Creature Campout: Great American Backyard Campout 5:30 p.m.

Jun 27 Tue
Tot Tuesday 10:30 a.m.

Jun 30 Fri
Social Hour: Drunken Botanist
6:00 p.m.

July 2017

Jul 1 Sat
Pajama Party
6:30 p.m.

Jul 3 Mon
Coffee Connections 9:00 a.m.

Jul 4 Tue
Twilight Tuesday 6:00 - 8:30 p.m.

Jul 5 Wed
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Jul 6 Thu
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Jul 7 Fri
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Jul 8 Sat
Zooper Kids 1:30 p.m.

Jul 11 Tue
Twilight Tuesday 6:00 - 8:30 p.m.
Sunset Safari 6:30 p.m.

Jul 12 Wed
Senior Wednesday
10:00 a.m.

Jul 15 Sat
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.
Social Hour: Ice Cream in the Congo 6:00 p.m.

Jul 18 Tue
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.
Wheeling Wild 5:30 p.m.
Twilight Tuesday 6:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

Jul 19 Wed
OWLET 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Jul 20 Thu
OWLET 10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.

Jul 21 Fri
Creature Campout (Indoors) 5:30 p.m.

Jul 25 Tue
Tot Tuesday 10:30 a.m.
Twilight Tuesday 6:00 - 8:30 p.m.

Jul 29 Sat
Children's Farms Festival: County Fair 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

August 2017

Aug 1 Tue
Wee Wigglers
10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Aug 2 Wed
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Aug 5 Sat
Back to School Bash 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Aug 7 Mon
Coffee Connections 9:00 a.m.

Aug 8 Tue
Sunset Safari 6:30 p.m.

Aug 9 Wed
Senior Wednesday 10:00 a.m.

Aug 11 Fri
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Aug 12 Sat
Zooper Kids 1:30 p.m.
Social Hour: Beastly Beers 6:00 p.m.

Aug 15 Tue
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.
OWLET 10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.
Wheeling Wild 5:30 p.m.

Aug 16 Wed
OWLET 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.
Homeschool Expeditions 10:00 a.m.

Aug 19 Sat
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.

Aug 22 Tue
Tot Tuesday 10:30 a.m.

September 2017

Sep 2 Sat
Pajama Party
6:30 p.m.

Sep 6 Wed
Homeschool Expeditions 10:00 a.m.
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Sep 7 Thu
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Sep 8 Fri
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Sep 9 Sat
Zoo
Closed 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Zoobilee 6:00 p.m. – midnight

Sep 12 Tue
Ewe & Me
10:00 a.m.
Sunset Safari
6:30 p.m.

Sep 13 Wed
Senior Wednesday
10:00 a.m.
Ewe & Me
10:00 a.m. & 1:30 p.m.

Sep 16 Sat
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.
Zooper Kids 1:30 p.m.
Creature Campout 5:30 p.m.

Sep 19 Tue
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.
Wheeling Wild 5:30 p.m.

Sep 20 Wed
OWLET
10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Sep 21 Thu
OWLET 10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.

Sep 23 Sat
Children's Farms Festival: Bee Day 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Junior Behind the Scenes 2:00 p.m.

Sep 26 Tue
Tot Tuesday 10:30 a.m.

Sep 30 Sat
Social Hour: Cocktails with the Creatures 6:00 p.m.

October 2017

Oct 2 Mon
Coffee Connections 9:00 a.m.

Oct 3 Tue
Wee Wiggler 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Oct 4 Wed
Wee Wiggler 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Oct 6 Fri
Creature Campout 5:30 p.m.
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Oct 10 Tue
Sunset Safari 6:30 p.m.

Oct 11
Wed
Homeschool Expeditions
10:00 a.m.
Ewe & Me 10:00 a.m. & 1:30 p.m.
Senior Wednesday 10:00 a.m.

Oct 12 Thu
Ewe & Me 1:30 p.m.

Oct 14 Sat
Zooper Kids 1:30 p.m.
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Oct 17 Tue
OWLET 10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.
Wheeling Wild 5:30 p.m.

Oct 18 Wed
OWLET 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Oct 21 Sat
Monkey Butt Poker Run 8:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Plant Donation Drive 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Get Into Nature 10:00 a.m.

Oct 22 Sun
Plant Donation Drive 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Oct 24 Tue
Tot Tuesday 10:30 a.m.

Oct 27 Fri
Night of the Living Zoo 6:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

Oct 28 Sat
Night of the Living Zoo 6:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. 

Oct 29 Sun
Night of the Living Zoo 6:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

November 2017

Nov 1 Wed
Winter Hours Begin. Zoo Hours: 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Nov 2 Thu
Wee Wigglers 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Nov 4 Sat
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Nov 6 Mon
Coffee Connections 9:00 a.m.

Nov 7 Tue
Ewe & Me 10:00 a.m. & 1:30 p.m.

Nov 8 Wed
Winter Wednesdays 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Ewe & Me 10:00 a.m. & 1:30 p.m.
Senior Wednesday 10:00 a.m.
Homeschool Expeditions 10:00 a.m.

Nov 10 Fri
Pajama Party 6:30 p.m.

Nov 11 Sat
Veterans Day 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Nov 14 Tue
Sunset Safari 6:30 p.m.

Nov 15 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
OWLET 10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Nov 16 Thur
OWLET 10:00 a.m.,11:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.

Nov 18 Sat
Zooper Kids 1:30 p.m.

Nov 20 Mon
WOW 8:00 a.m.

Nov 21 Mon
WOW 8:00 a.m.

Nov 22 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
WOW Thanksgiving Safari 10:00 a.m.

Nov 28 Tue
Tot Tuesday 10:30 a.m.

Nov 29 Wed
Winter Wednesday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Hours of Operation
Summer Hours8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
(Beginning March 1)
Winter Hours10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
(Beginning November 1)
Open 364 Days a Year!*
*The Zoo will be closed one day only, September 9, 2017 to facilitate the preparation of the annual Zoo fundraiser, Zoobilee. For Zoobilee ticket information please call 266-8APE (8273).
E-NEWSLETTER SIGNUP